Fragrant Lamb Curry..

Winter is a season that forces one to seek comfort in food.. rich flavorful food that’s cooked with love and care.
Lamb Curry is such a food.. the meat in itself had a delicate flavor, and too many flavors can change it to the point where you lose that, but the right combination of spices and herbs – the meat will be enhanced in flavor instead.IMG_2350 Now I’m not a professional chef, but I am a passionate cook, and I can’t tell you the major difference between a stew and curry, but I believe it’s the use of spices and vegetables. Stews have vegetables like carrots and other things, whereas curries contain just potatoes and more flavor. This is a mix of both I guess.IMG_2347

I served mine with some steamed bread, and although it was good, I haven’t perfected the recipe. I’ll post it up as soon as I have! Ok let’s get to making this curry!!

You’ll Need:
1Kg Stewing Lamb
2 large potatoes cubed
1 large onion sliced
1 can tomato puree
1Lt Lamb stock or chicken if you like
2spoons oil
2 chillies with seeds (one if you don’t like heat)
1 tsp cloves
2 star anise
2 sticks cinnamon
3 curry leaves or a spoon of curry powder
2 cloves garlic finely chopped
1 thumb ginger finely chopped or grated

IMG_2348

How To:
Heat your oil and when it’s warm enough, add your lamb and brown. Then remove from the heat and set aside.
Then to that oil, add everything except the puree and stock and potatoes.
Add your meat back into the pot, and coat with all the goodness. Then add half your stock, and your tomato puree, and leave on a medium heat for about 40 minutes, checking on the liquid.
Now after the liquid has reduced, add your potatoes and coat with the yumminess, (I added carrots too) and add the remainder of the stock. Adjust salt accordingly. And let it simmer away till the meat is super soft, and the potatoes break easily.. This will easily thicken the sauce. Once it’s done, sprinkle with some fresh chopped coriander, I didn’t have so I used basil.
Serve with rice, bread or anything your heart desires.

Enjoy my loves..
ZamaIMG_2342

Leave a Reply

