Basil Sausage Shakshuka..

I’ve been seeing so many posts of Shakshuka on my IG Timeline, and their all different! I love a good tomato sauce, I love egg so I thought I’d try it out.
I didn’t realise how easy the basic recipe is, and honestly it’s all about adding your personal favorites to make it good for you.
In South Africa, we refer to the tomato sauce as iBhisto, and it’s served along with eggs, or pap (Grits/polenta) and other starch, so all Shakshuka is, is poaching eggs and adding other things to iBhisto.. Mine turned out really good, and I’m urging you guys to try it. It’s so yum!IMG_2231[1]

You’ll need:
1 Can chopped tomatoes
1 Clove Garlic
1 Small onion
Half a green pepper
3 Pork Sausages (or any other you prefer)
1 Cube of Feta
3 Eggs
Fresh Parsley or Basil

How To:
I started by squeezing out balls from my sausages and frying them in a little oil. Make sure they are cooked.
Remove from the pan and set aside.
Add your chopped onion, garlic and pepper and fry until onion is clear.
Add your can of tomatoes, and reduce heat while letting it simmer and thicken check after 6 minutes to check what consistency you’d like.
Mix in your meatballs and then crack your eggs into the mixture, they cook VERY quickly so if you want them runny, 2 minutes is enough.
Break some feta over everything and tear up some herbs, and serve from the pan with a few slices of sourdough toast. IT’S SO GOOD!!

Share with someone you love..
Zama..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

